A History of St George's

The original St George's "National School" opened in Ramsgate in 1841. The school was founded to “increase the means of providing a moral and religious education according to the tenets of the established Church in England for the children of both sexes of the poor of the parishes of Ramsgate and St. Laurence and to engraft therein a suitable course of instruction to their station in life”. Initially teaching was provided in separate classes for approximately 130 boys and 150 girls of primary and secondary ages, plus 150 infants.

Please also see :

In September 1967, St George's Girls C of E School moved from Ramsgate to new buildings in Westwood Road, Broadstairs. The St George's Boys C of E School  moved to the site in 1973, after the construction of more facilities. By 1975 it was officially a mixed School called St George's Church of England School. It was at the start of the 1975/76 year that the names of the Houses were changed.  The original 4 Houses at the Girls' School had been St Monica (which became Winchester  - Green), St Dorothea (which became York - Yellow), St Catherine (Canterbury - Blue) and St Theresa (Rochester - Red). The Boys' Houses had previously been Bartram (Green), Hertslet (Blue), Crawfurd (Red) and White-Thomson (Yellow).

Two years later Exeter (Orange) and Salisbury (Purple) were added. (See Inter-House Challenge Cup page).

These buildings stood until early 2010 when they were knocked down and a new school building was built next to the site. The School was officially opened on Wednesday 29 September 2010 by The Right Reverend Trevor Willmott, Bishop of Dover. Staff and students had been using the building since the week of St George's Day, April 2010.

By 2012, following expansion of the school intake there were 8 Houses - including Norwich (Pink) and Gloucester (Grey), but it was decided to return to 4 Houses - Winchester absorbed into Canterbury, Gloucester joined Exeter, York became part of Rochester and Norwich and Salisbury merged to form a bigger Salisbury.

September 2016 saw the opening of our new 'Primary Phase' as the school expanded to become an "all-through" with an age range of 4 to 19.

We have an Old Boys and an Old Girls Association that many former pupils belong to.


2017 - present Mr A Mirams
2009 – 2017 Mrs K Stoner
1997 - 2009 Mr K Rumblo
1988 - 1997 Mr A J Fletcher (from September 1988)
Summer Term 1988 Mr A Hogarth (interim)
1973 – 1988 Mr N Morland (retired April 1988)

School Prizes

A number of trophies and prizes are presented each year, and many are named after staff who have taught at the school over many years.  They include :


Armstrong Cup (Best GCSE Results)

St George’s Cup (Best GCSE Results)

Vigo Cup Sponsored by the Isle of Thanet Sunrise Rotary Club (For Outstanding Commitment to the St George’s Community)

The David Cotton Cup (For Best Effort in Year 7)

Keith Rumblo Award (for showing honour to the St George’s family & interest in the school community)

Croucher Cup (for character and Service to the School)

Chapman Cup (for character and Service to the School)

Dick Haworth Memorial Prize (For Excellence in Girls Physical Education) 

Dick Haworth Memorial Prize (For Excellence in Boys Physical Education)

Scholarship Award

Always, Always, Always Award

Thanet Lions Club Award (For Social Awareness)

Maggie Harrington Achievement Award (for Key Stage 3 Science)

St George’s Old Boys Association Progress Prize (for progress in Reading)

St George’s Old Girls Association Progress Prize (for Greatest Progress at Key Stage 3)

The Outreach Progression Award from Canterbury Christ Church University (for Greatest Progress at Key Stage 4)

The Capita Award