Protected Characteristics

Protected characteristics tree


The Equality Act 2010 aims to prevent discrimination. It is illegal to discriminate against people based on nine protected characteristics:

  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race: can refer to colour, nationality, ethnic or national origins
  • religion or belief: can refer to religious or philosophical beliefs, including a lack of belief
  • sex: refers to a person's gender
  • sexual orientation
  • age
  • marriage and civil partnership

No form of discrimination is tolerated at St George's C of E School, but it is particularly important that children are taught about these protected characteristic groups and the importance of showing respect to people within these groups. You can see how we do this in the link below.


PROTECTED Characteristics in the Curriculum at St George's